Trainees for Site

HSRLCE Studentship Awards

The Centre prioritizes the importance of training the next generation of research leaders. We support research and education on the prevention and cure of cardiovascular diseases with our trainee funding programs. These awards aim to enrich the productive research enterprise in Toronto and beyond. We expect these trainees to become the scientific leaders of tomorrow.


The Heart & Stroke/Richard Lewar Centre of Excellence in Cardiovascular Research (HSRLCE, the Centre) offers studentship awards ($15,000 each) to support the cardiovascular research community. The Centre's studentship awards are intended to support individuals in the initial phase of their training who wish to pursue a career in cardiovascular science. The objective of these awards is to support a robust and productive research community in Toronto. These awards are given to those who demonstrate the potential for excellence through their previous academic accomplishments and the environment in which they will work.

Past HSRLCE Studentship Recipients


Sadi Loai, Supervisor: Hai-Ling Margaret Cheng Vyas Manav, Supervisor: Moira Kapral


Laura Aronoff, Supervisor: Slava Epelman Andrew Rajkumar, Supervisor: Myron Cybulsky


Ramadan Azza, Supervisor: Subodh Verma Henry Cheng, Supervisor: Jason Fish Sarah Farr, Supervisor: Khosrow Adeli Marsel Lino, Supervisor: Michelle Bendeck Eric Tawagi, Supervisor: Paul Santerre


Yuliya Lytvyn, Supervisor: David Cherney Songyi Xu, Supervisor: Michelle Bendeck Jenna Usprech, Supervisor: Craig Simmons Zhi Cui, Supervisor: Ren-Ke Li Diana Buchsbaum, Supervisor: Anthony Gramolini


Mark Blaser, Supervisor: Craig Simmons Jake Cosme, Supervisor: Anthony Gramolini Idan Roifman, Supervisor: Jack Tu Nimalan Thavandiran, Supervisor: Peter Zandstra Yun Xiao, Supervisor: Milica Radisic Xiaohong Xu, Supervisor: Heyu Ni


Michelle Bergevin, Supervisor: Craig Simmons Anton Mihic, Supervisor: Ren-Ke Li Alexandra Mighiu, Supervisor: Scott Heximer Juarez Braga, Supervisor: Doug Lee Winnie Fung, Supervisor: Michelle Bendeck Kathryn Lipsett, Supervisor: Anthony Gramolini


Safina Ali, Supervisor: Daniel Drucker Petra Lucker, Supervisor: Peter Zandstra Mark Roufaiel, Supervisor: Myron Cybulsky Allan Siu, Supervisor: Myron Cybulsky Bilge Yoruk, Supervisor: Ian Scott Boyang Zhang, Supervisor: Milica Radisic


Sivani Paskaradevan, Supervisor: Ian Scott Kaustabh Singh, Supervisor: Ren-Ke Li Valentin Sotov, Supervisor: Michelle Letarte


Moniba Mirkhani, Supervisor: Peter Backx Lewis Reis, Supervisor: Milica Radisic Paul Turgeon, Supervisor: Phil Marsen Songyi Xu, Supervisor: Avrum Gotlieb


Kaveesh Dissanayake, Supervisor: Scott Heximer Melissa Noronha, Supervisor: Anthony Gramolini Karanvir Wasal, Supervisor: Myron Cybulsky Bilge Yoruk, Supervisor: Ian Scott Forough Mohammad Zadeh, Supervisor: Tom Parker


Kiwon Ban, Supervisor: Mansoor Husain Sonya Hui, Supervisor: Mansoor Husain Sam Tirgari, Supervisor: Scott Heximer Andrei Vagaon, Supervisor: Steffen-Sebastian Bolz


Joanne Arcand, Supervisor: Gary Newton Shivalika Handa, Supervisor: Mansoor Husain Han Kim, Supervisor: Peter Backx Anton Mihic, Supervisor: Rob Tsushima Kim Paulson Timothy Ryan, Supervisor: Anthony Gramolini Elissa Tepperman


Eser Adiguzel, Supervisor: Michelle Bendeck Nicole Anderson Jo Anne Arcand, Supervisor: Gary Newton Zobia Jawed Han Kim, Supervisor: Peter Backx Karolina Kolodziejska, Supervisor: Mansoor Husain Rohit Sheshgiri Cindy Yip


S Bunda, Supervisor: Aleksander Hinek W. Chow, Supervisor: Michelle Bendeck Marc Chretien, Supervisor: Lowell Langille C. Kim, Supervisor: Terrance Yau A. Mori, Supervisor: Benoit Bruneau Nazneen Tata, Supervisor: Michael Sole S.-S. Zhang, Supervisor: Benoit Bruneau


Nazzareno D’Avanzo, Supervisor: Peter Backx Shivalika Handa, Supervisor, Mansoor Husain Jeff He, Supervisor: Michael Ward Nazneen Tata, Supervisor: Michael Sole Hiwot Woldu, Supervisor: Mansoor Husain


Mikin Patel, Supervisor: Peter Backx Peter Sabatini, Supervisor: Lowell Langille Renee Suen, supervisor: Duncan Stewart Doyon Won, Supervisor: Myron Cybulsky


Eser Adiguzel, Supervisor: Michelle Bendeck Golnaz Karoubi, Supervisor: David Courtman Renee Suen, Supervisor: Duncan Stewart Ge Yang, Supervisor: Mansoor Husain


Nesime Askin, Supervisor: Carin Wittnich Shathiya Kulandavelu, Supervisor: Lee Adamson Carol Kolb, Supervisor: Lee Adamson Renee Suen, Supervisor: Duncan Stewart
Liz ThuoStudentship Awards