CCS/HSRLCE/BI-Lilly Cardiometabolic Research Award

The Heart & Stroke / Richard Lewar Centre of Excellence in Cardiovascular Research (HSRLCE), the Canadian Cardiovascular Society, HSRLCE, and the BI-Lilly Alliance created an award entitled “CCS/HSRLCE/BI-Lilly-Cardiometabolic Research Award.” This Award is intended for early career researchers (including PhDs and MDs) who are within five (5) years of their first faculty appointment at a Canadian academic institution, for a research project on any topic related to cardiometabolic disease.

In 2022 we received 11 submissions from Cross-Canada. A total of 2 awards totaling $80K were awarded based on an independent peer-review process. Finalists of the award were:

Dr. Amélie Paquin​
Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec (IUCPQ-UL / UOHI​)
PROJECT: Sex-Specific Cardiometabolic Determinants of Left Ventricular Remodeling in Aortic Stenosis

Dr. Han Kim​
University of Ottawa Heart Institute​
PROJECT: Investigating the role of hepatic ketogenesis in SGLT2 inhibitor-mediated treatment for heart failure with or without type 2 diabetes

2021 Recipients

Dr. Bahar Behrouzi
University Of Toronto
PROJECT: Investigating viral respiratory infections (VRI) in real-world patients with/at risk of cardiovascular disease (CVD) using epidemiological techniques
Awarded $20,000

Dr. Vinay Garg
University Of Toronto
PROJECT: ADJUnctive use of SGLT2i Prior to Elective Cardioversion for Prevention of Atrial Fibrillation/Flutter Recurrence: A Pilot Study
Awarded $15,000

Dr. Vaibhav Patel
University Of Calgary
PROJECT: Targeting mitochondrial dynamics and metabolism in aortic aneurysm
Awarded $20,000

Dr. Husam Abdel-Qadir
University Of Toronto
PROJECT: SGLT2 inhibitors for Patients with Atrial fibrillation and Diabetes
Awarded $15,000

2020 Recipients:

Dr. Marie-Eve Piché
University of Ottawa
PROJECT: Effects of Exercise and lifestyle intervention on subclinical cardiac function in adults
with metabolic syndrome: a 16-week randomized study
Awarded $25,000

Dr. Mireille Ouimet
Laval University
PROJECT: Role of Lipophagy in Macrophage Polarization
Awarded $20,000

2019 Recipients:

Dr. Walter Swardfager
Sunnybrook Research Institute
PROJECT: Oxylipins in the Diabetic Microvascular Contributions Cognitive Impairment and
Awarded $25,000

Dr. Patrick Lawler
University Health Network
PROJECT: Plasma Metabolomic Alterations Accompanying Empagliflozin Therapy
Awarded $20,000

2018 Recipients:

Dr. Cynthia Luk
St. Michael’s Hospital
PROJECT: The Role of Adipose Tissue Signaling in the Pathogenesis of Atherosclerosis
Awarded $25,000

Dr. Charles de Mestral
St. Michael’s Hospital
PROJECT: Reducing Amputation from Diabetes and Peripheral Arterial Disease through Regional
Foot Care and Amputation Prevention Pathways
Awarded $20,000