2018 HSRLCE Michael J. Sole Annual Cardiovascular Scientific Day



HSRLCE’s 2018 Michael J. Sole Annual Scientific Day will be held on Wednesday April 11, 2018 at the Hart House  (7 Hart House Circle, Toronto).  The theme will be From Discovery to Clinical Trials. Topics of discussion will include: “The PCSK9 Inhibitor Story”, and “Valvular Heart Disease”. Details to follow. 

Student Poster Competition
As in previous years, we will run a poster competition for trainees. Click here to complete the poster abstract submission form. The deadline to submit poster abstracts is Monday, March 5, 2018.

Dr. Subhash C. Verma Award: Nomination Deadline – Friday, February 9, 2018
Once again we are pleased to announce the annual Dr. Subhash C. Verma Young Investigator’s Award. This award recognizes a young investigator working in the cardiovascular field at the University of Toronto. The chosen young investigator will receive an award of $1,500 plus a plaque, and will deliver a lecture on his/her research achievements at the Centre’s annual cardiovascular scientific day on April 11, 2018. We are asking for your help in identifying exceptional candidates for consideration. (See the Terms of Reference).

To be eligible, a nominee must be: a junior faculty member at the University of Toronto (most likely but not limited to Assistant Professor); they must be a member of the HSRLCE (see list of members); and they must have been an independent Principal Investigator for no longer than 7 years. Please send your nominations to Liz Thuo at hsrl.centre@utoronto.ca no later than Friday, February 9th.

Past recipients include:
2006 Michael Borger
2007 Andrew Emili
2008 Heyu Ni
2009 Sandy Dick
2010 Doug Lee
2011 Anthony Gramolini
2012 Dennis Ko
2013 Andrew Yan
2014 Jason Fish
2015 Kim Connelly
2016 Harindra Wijeysundera
2017 Clinton Robbins


wp_adminMichael J. Sole Annual Cardiovascular Scientific Day